Happy 2017

Happy 2017

Happy New Year, friends! Is it just us, or did 2016 fly by way too quickly?! 2016 brought a lot of good times for us, from fun road trips and amazing concerts, to discovering ways to make our favorite dishes healthier. We both even took on new jobs! While 2016 was great, we’re looking forward to 2017 and hoping it’ll be even better!

So every year, we can’t help but notice that we, along with our friends, make New Year Resolutions.  You know, the usual promises to eat better, exercise more, stick to a budget, and to take more “me-time.” But friends, let’s be real. How many of us actually stick to our resolutions??  We’ll be the first to admit that we haven’t had the best track record over the last few years.  We always get excited those last few weeks of December, sharing what we’ll do differently in the new year. And trust, we start off strong and proud of ourselves for making those changes! Oh but then February comes…and little by little all hopes of sticking to those resolutions are lost!

Elencia: For the last 3 years, I’ve made the EXACT same resolution: to exercise on a regular basis! This is because I’m always hoping for that amazing 6-pack abs of steel I need to have by the summer!  But do you know how hard it is to get motivated to exercise after a full day of work and coming home to take care of kiddos?  Who wants to exercise after all of that, and especially in the winter?? I mean, I could use that time to get caught up on my recorded shows while eating Kit Kat bars instead! You know, the things that REALLY make me happy! And isn’t that what life is all about? Being happy?!?

Bridget: I make resolutions every year. I break resolutions every year. It’s not because I don’t try. I try way too hard. To the point of making it impossible to keep at the pace I started. One year I decided to be vegan. By January 4th, I was eating deli sliced ham while standing in the refrigerator door. Another year, I decided I would exercise every day. By mid February, I had stock in Dunkin Donuts. I’m kidding! I just had a plaque on the wall. The point is sometimes we go so big… that we go home disappointed or disgusted. For 2017, I’m thinking differently. This year is not all or nothing. This year I am making goals to be worked on slow and steady. Look out 2019! I’ve started your resolutions 2 years early!

Friends, let’s all attempt to do better this year and make good on those resolutions! Have you had any failed New Year resolutions? Leave us a comment and share this post with your friends!

Leave a comment